Muscles hurt after stretching?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by blackbelt92, May 28, 2011.

1. blackbelt92

blackbelt92 Valued Member

Hey everyone, I've been a member of MAP for a while but have been mostly reading the forums.

I am working towards the splits and am wondering if a little muscle soreness the day after stretching is okay? The soreness is not that much. Just wondering if I am stretching too hard. I'm new to this, so any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

2. Soni

Soni Valued Member

I wasn't naturally flexible and had to work hard for years to before flexible and get into the full side/box splits but accomplished my dream in the end and proud of it.

Advice, concentrate on hip isolation like the frog position and also work the hamstrings, these are great for the splits. Start in the frog, at first it will look like a bridge, with a massive gap underneath your groin, relax into the stretch and take your time and you'll soon have the lovely feeling of your nuts touch the floor.

Then whilst in the frog place one leg at a time out to the side, working the hamsrings, alternate legs.

As for the pain, some will say you shouldn't feel pain, if you want my answer, you'll feel discomfort but you'll learn to notice a nice stretch discomfort and a at pain, you should feel the stretch and sometimes it may evem burn when you stretch, but if you feel Sharp pain then back off as that's not good.

Good luck

3. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

I think this maybe called DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness)

Some think it is a good idea to do a light-mild warm up stretch before and after your "main stretch routine".

But this may be proven otherwise

I think, mainly;

Of course anytime you introduce a new and strenuous routine to the body and target area it is going to be sore.

4. blackbelt92

blackbelt92 Valued Member