Muay Thai clubs in Greater Manchester

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by lordazazel, Nov 14, 2005.

1. lordazazel

lordazazel Valued Member

Looking for a new Muay Thai club - help!

Hi there!

Due to ill-health, I haven't trained in Muay Thai for exactly 2 years, but am now recovering enough to start my training once more. (I'm sorry to be secretive or evasive here, but for personal reasons I don't wish to go into details). Therefore I would like to ask for some advice from the regular members of the forum.

I trained for 3 years with the S.M.T.C and the club that has since become Caledonian Muay Thai, from which I have VERY fond memories of training there. However, I am a recent graduate and will soon be re-locating from Scotland to the Greater Manchester area and am looking for advice on which clubs I should look at joining.

Of course, I'm aware that Master Sken is based in Stockport and that Sandy Holt trains in Bolton, but I also have to accept that due to my health problems and being out of action for exactly 2 years, I must be realistic and start again from the very beginning. Unfortunately, due to my problems I have to re-acquire my physical conditioning AND Muay Thai ability from scratch. :(

Therefore, I want to join a club which will cater for ALL levels of ability, from beginner through to intermediate and advanced levels, to competing at the highest competitive level. That way, I will be able to work out a long-term training plan which will involve working with all levels of expertise and maximise my learning curve.

It will take a minimum of six months to get back to where I was before (by which time I will be 3 years behind my previous level in terms of learning curve), and I am realistic enough to know that I may never catch up with my former training partners, who have long since surpassed me. But I want to do the best I can and feel that, with the right club, I can do very well. Any advice members may have will be greatly appreciated.