Mindfulness and the martial arts

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Vince Millett, Aug 9, 2018.

1. Vince Millett

Vince Millett Haec manus inimica tyrannis MAP 2017 Gold Award

Here's an interesting article about mindfulness in martial arts from Matt Thornton, founder of Straight Blast Gym International, an association of over 35 gyms worldwide engaged in training athletes in BJJ, boxing and MMA.

His organisation has done a lot of work over the years on how people learn, so there's often a deep theoretical framework behind their training methodologies. His videos on YouTube are well worth a watch.

Dead_pool, axelb and Monkey_Magic like this.
  2. Mitlov

Mitlov Shiny

I've been practicing mindfulness meditation since 2000, and spent plenty of time thinking about how it intersects with my martial arts and fencing training. There's things that I really like and things I really don't like about this article.

Basically everything where he talks about how BJJ fosters mindfulness is great.

One area where it falls apart for me is when he starts talking about how martial arts that aren't combat sports, or physical activities that aren't direct competition (like distance running), aren't as good. There are multiple different ways that an activity can build mindfulness, and just because Y is dissimilar to X didn't mean it's inferior from a mindfulness perspective. As an example:

"Zazen mediation is great for building mindfulness because being free of external input allows you to focus on your breath. Washing dishes is nothing like zazen mediation. Thus, washing dishes isn't good for building mindfulness."

(In fact, washing dishes is one of Thich That Hanh's favorite mindfulness exercises)