Meditation

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by jkdlifer, Sep 12, 2012.

1. jkdlifer

jkdlifer New Member

Hello all,

I'm a newbie when it comes to meditation but I can already feel the benefits.

I was wondering if any of you out there have any tips, books, methods, that have worked for you that you wouldn't mind sharing?

Thanks!

2. inthespirit

inthespirit ignant

3. jkdlifer

jkdlifer New Member

Thanks for the links!

I'll check them out.

4. caveman

caveman Threadkiller

When you say you are feeling benefits what exactly do you mean? I'm not trying to be funny or argumentative, I'm genuinely interested and curious about this.

5. warriorofanart

warriorofanart Valued Member

Here's a simple relaxation exercise:

Sit in a place where you won't be disturbed for at least 15 minutes; you can sit crossed-legged, or on a chair, but you have to keep your back straight so you can breathe fully.

Start by placing your hands in your lap (palms towards you with the dominate hand holding your other hand and your thumbs touching), and breathe normally; don't force it. After a few minutes, begin by taking a deep breath for 4 seconds, hold it for 4 seconds, release it for 4 seconds, and hold it again for 4 seconds. Concentrate on counting the seconds. Do this for about 5 minutes, then breathe normally again. Enjoy the relaxation. Try to keep your mind clear when you're doing this exercise.

This is a very basic, but powerful relaxation exercise that has done wonders for me. To reiterate on that I had sinus surgery a few weeks ago, and it was my first time under the knife. When I was laying on the hospital bed waiting to be transferred to the operation room, I started getting anxious and my heart started beating faster. I did this exercise, and within minutes managed to control my heart rate and even joked around with the nurses before I was knocked out.

Hope this helps.

6. jkdlifer

jkdlifer New Member

Hey caveman.