Maximizing weight loss/Minimizing muscle loss

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Kikaku, Apr 28, 2006.

1. Kikaku

Kikaku Gakorai Tosha Akuma Fudo

I had a full body scan today at the gym. I'm officially 82 kg/14 % Body fat/6ft tall/22 years old/ Maintenance calories are 2200. I work out 3 times a week at 6am in the gym with a trainer. My average work out involves 4 sets in the 10-12 rep range, using moderate weights at around 60 % intensity. Normally we work on one muscle group for an hour during one of our 1hr sessions.

I'm a Martial artist, and train in Wu Shu Kwan Kung fu 4 times a week, which is very cardio based. This is where my cardio comes from. Occasionally I will get up at 6am and do 30 minutes of HIIT in the gym.

3 weeks ago I was at 15 % BF and I weighed 85 kg. According to the body scan read out, I've lost 2 kg of muscle, which I know has to be expected, but I'm not happy about this. I've been told I need to up my protein intake. My trainer and I also plan on starting to lower the reps in the weights and increase the weight, to counter this muscle loss.

My main concern now is my diet. I want to stay on this cut, but I don't want to loose gobs of muscle. What do you suggest I eat ?

I'm planning on having :

Breakfast : 2 non fat yogurts/ Protein shake with chopped banana.

Midmorning snack : 1 non fat yogurt

Lunch: Large stuffed Chicken breast (peppers and cheese) very small salad

Mid afternoon snack:1 non fat yogurt

Late afternoon snack: 1 non fat yogurt

Dinner (around 10 pm after MA class): Protein shake with Creatine.

I'm trying to have a high protein diet, with few carbs just until I get my BF % down. Any suggestions ?

Last edited: Apr 28, 2006
  2. Jamo2

Jamo2 The Louie Vitton Don

Fack me with all those yoghurts youll turn into one.

Ok you seem very strict on your carbs, dont be!. You need them. Your going for a high protein diet, but i think more importantly is a good balanced diet.