Martial Arts over 40.

Discussion in 'Injuries and Prevention' started by namadesk, May 23, 2015.

1. namadesk

namadesk New Member

Seems like I constantly aam getting hurt or cut or brusied since I turned 40. I feel like I don't heal the way I used to. Has anyone else felt that way? Any suggestions for those who have gone thru this?

Frank
    Link removed.

Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2015
  2. SWC Sifu Ben

SWC Sifu Ben I am the law

I don't think I ever felt any other way since I started training :D

3. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

Please note we don't allow links back to personal sites.

Once you have enough posts you'll be able to add a link as a signature.

4. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

Once you hit40 muscle mass decreases as does bone density and T levels, its an ideal time to start weight training to of set this and concentrate on intelligent quality training over dumb quantity training.

5. Karatebadger

Karatebadger Valued Member

I have returned to karate at 46 and I find that I need to adapt my stances and check my technique more these days. In my twenties I could punch badly all day but now it makes my shoulder and elbow hurt if my technique wanders a little.

6. kevets

kevets New Member

That's very well stated.

7. belltoller

belltoller OffTopic MonstreOrdinaire Supporter

Make certain to take care with one's joints, which begin to make their introductions when you get older.

Besides the necessity of learning proper form and technique with respects to weight training - could you add any thing else that would benefit such as cod liver oil supplements, a particular diet, etc?

8. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

I've just started stretching daily, and so far its made a massive difference to my training.

Eat healthily, don't be overweight, don't be underweight, don't drink to excess regularly, do some cardio every week.