Martial Arts And Real Fights

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by Tigersan, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Tigersan

Tigersan New Member

hI Folks,

Having never been in a real fight luckily. I have one question for you on observatons i have on seeing fights happen around me.

Im currently studying Kenpo and have been for 7 years, and although all the tecniques do work in the gym which ofc there bound to. I have noticed from fights ive watched or seen in the street that within seconds it goes to grabs and holds. Kenpo does not have this in its sylibus.

Do all fights go to the ground or holds, if so then surely any martial arts that envolves standing fighting is a waste of time if the opponent just goes in to wrestle mode.

Oppinions appreciated from people who have been caught up in the real fights on the streets.

cheers,

2. Al_Bundy

Al_Bundy Valued Member

whoever goes to answer this seriously, is a post whore :D

3. Tigersan

Tigersan New Member

EH? I thought my question was a very good question. As from observations i find that basic street fights do go to the wrestle,brawl mode.

Then it may be better me taking a look at ju jitsu, wrestling or Judo rather than the standard. Kenpo, shotokan etc( ie standing arts which i feel do not have any uses when its all down to wrestling on the ground)

4. Satsui_No_Hadou

Satsui_No_Hadou Ultra Valued Member