MA in Ashburn, VA?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by RyuTerp, May 4, 2007.

1. RyuTerp

RyuTerp New Member

Hello All -

I'm writing in hopes of learning about any Martial Arts schools in the Ashburn, VA area. I used to live closer in to DC but recently moved out here, specifically to the Broadlands. I'm currently a student of RyuTe Kempo Karate, but the Dojo is in Bethesda, MD and, while I love the system and the instructors are excellent, it may not be possible for me to make it over there regularly considering traffic and other limitations. I'm hoping to locate a nearby Dojo with similar style in the event I have to make a switch.

Thank you in advance for your help.

2. pauli

pauli mr guillotine

my bjj class is in ashburn. not the slightest bit like kempo. come roll!

3. mike-IHF

mike-IHF Valued Member

RyuTerp,

I teach Hapkido in Alexandria. I know that's still pretty far for you, but I thaught I would at least extend the invitation anyways. You can check us out on the web at koreanmusulinstitute .

4. gungfujoe

gungfujoe Please, call me Erik. :)

If he can't make it to Bethesda to regular classes, I can't imagine any way he'd be able to make it here on a regular basis. :) I teach in Alexandria as well, and while I don't consider my art to be much like Kempo, I do have one former Kempo student who feels that this art is a very good match for him and resembes his former art. He's loaned me some of his old teacher's videos, though, and I see more differences than similarities, even if the core basics are similar.

5. mike-IHF

mike-IHF Valued Member

gungfujoe,

I know it is still far, that's whay I stated that I was just throwing the invitation out of respect. I had a student once that came all the way from West Virginia. So I know some people don't mind the commute if they like what they are doing. This is why I thaught I would at least express an invite.

6. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter