list of weaponry from standard to more obscure

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by ap Oweyn, Sep 12, 2012.

1. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

So, partly for the new folks and partly just for the sake of it, I thought it might be useful to generate a list of weapons and weapon combinations common in FMA. (Inspired by a comment in the Weapons section recently)

Just for the cultural edification, let's also add the appropriate terminology.

The obvious ones:

• Single stick (solo baston or olisi)
    • Double stick (doble baston or olisi)
    • Stick (or sword) and dagger (espada y daga)
    • Dagger (baraw or daga)

Over to you.

2. Ular Sawa

Ular Sawa Valued Member

Just thinking about what I have....

Barong
    Kampilan

3. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Two styles of sword, for the new folks.

4. Oddsbodskins

Oddsbodskins Troll hunter 2nd Class

Well, the largo baston, the long stick, can be interesting, although I've got limited experience with it.

5. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

You mean long staff? Or a longer one-handed stick? Just curious.

If you're talking about long staff, in my school we called it "kawayan," though I was told that actually technically meant "spear." I've also heard the term "sibat" for a staff.

6. Janno

Janno Valued Member

Karambit
    Dulo-dulo
    Balisong
    .357 magnum

:D

7. NinjaPlease

NinjaPlease Ninjas always say Please.

Long staff. I havent used in awhile, last time I practice I almost broke a lamp. Now I practice out side.

8. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

tjabang

9. Oddsbodskins

Oddsbodskins Troll hunter 2nd Class

The five foot 2-handed, that's how it was introduced to me, anyway.

10. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Let's do a little defining, rather than just rattling off weapon names. I know what dulo dulo, tjabang, kerambit, and balisong are. But our new folks may not.

I presume we all know what a 357 Magnum is, mind you. :D