Linux

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by SpikeD, Aug 16, 2011.

1. SpikeD

SpikeD At the Frankenstein Place

I have only ever had Windows as an OS (discounting my speccy days) but recently i find myself more intrigued by Linux. The problem is i nothing of value about it. I gather it comes in many flavours from what i have googled but i don't fully understand what the differences really are.

Could a knowledgable person answer a couple of quick questions i have please?

As an uninitiated user, what version should i adopt and how does it compare (if it does) to the windows platform?

Will i be able to run the programs and games i have? Photoshop, nero, Crysis 2 etc

What are the real benefits in running Linux vs Windows.

I suppose these are total noob Q's and i apologise in advance for my shameful ignorance. :hail:

Thanks, Lee.

2. LilBunnyRabbit

LilBunnyRabbit Old One

Nope. But I'll try.

Ubuntu - easiest to install and use. It compares quite well against Windows and is certainly worth a look. If you download and burn to a CD then you can try it out before deciding whether to install or not.

Possibly but unlikely. The base functioning of the OS is completely different. You can install Wine (a Windows emulator for Linux) which will allow many things to run, but there's no guarantee for any of them.

E-peen enlargement.

Linux is a little more secure than Windows, and has fewer problems with virii. However if you've been maintaining your Windows sytem properly (patching regularly, keeping antivirus up to date) then there's little benefit in security.

The biggest advantage is probably customisation - there is nothing in Linux you can't rip out and replace if you choose. However doing this does take a bit of practice and background knowledge.