Lineage versus Patches, or JSA v kinda-JSA

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by ScottUK, Jul 18, 2013.

1. ScottUK

ScottUK More human than human...

Japanese Sword Arts. JSA. How cool.

That was pretty much what I thought when I first came across JSA in the early-80s, when I saw some pics in a book of martial arts. It was entitled ‘iaido’. It turns out that the pics were of Jim Wilson, a chap who has been much maligned online for being a jack-of-all-budo-and-master-of-nothing-except-youtube. Go Google for him.

Still, my fires were lit, and some years later, I started training in iai and other JSA.

It turns out that there is JSA and there is JSA. Some practiced as handed down throughout the ages and some manufactured by people in angry white pajamas as an extension of their hand-to-hand stuff. The former looked all formal and too serious and the latter looked like they would kill you as look at you.

Turns out I was a bit wrong. Not the first time, and probably not the last this week.

JSA can be split into two different groups - koryu (old traditions) and gendai (modern). The definition of koryu is an art that has a history that stems back to before the Meiji Restoration in 1868, the time of much change in Japan - but a lot of koryu stem back to the 16th & 17th centuries (and even earlier!), pretty amazing when you consider arts like Japanese karate have less than 100 years of formal history. Gendai is pretty much anything that has been created in the last 150 years or so. Judo, Aikido, Billy-Bob’s School of Aiki-Karate-Ninjer-Do etc etc.

Does koryu trump gendai? Is modern flexibility more effective than traditional stalwartness? That depends on a million factors - the people practicing, the art, the environment and so on. As I started martial study in 1984 with Wadoryu karate, I have a soft spot in my heart for such arts - but these days I only practice koryu arts and the genbudo that has developed from them.