Leong Fu

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by incubus, Dec 27, 2003.

1. incubus

incubus Valued Member

Hi

I have been training Mon Lung kungfu for many years and I have just attained my Black belt. My instructor has got his tution abroad under Master Leong Fu . He is malaysian and I know that he retired undefeated in Chinese Karato sparring.

I got some info about the founder of my art however I would like to find out more. Any news from any of you ? Any thing can be helpful,website etc

Thanks

2. Steel Dragon

Steel Dragon New Member

ATADO KUNG FU

The Grand Master and founder of the base system is a man called LEONG FU LEE, who initially studied Hung Gar and Northern Tong Long. He left China when it became a republic in 1948, moving first to Okinawa in Japan where he studied Okinawan Karate.
    He later moved to Penang, Malaysia, where he opened his own school of Martial Arts calling it 'Atado Karato' (Atado was Leong's nickname). It was here he met another master teaching his pupils Wing Chun and Indonesian Silat.
    The name of this Master who later became his friend was DI-SUM-SI. Master Leong then amalgamated the two styles and called the new system 'ATADO PAI' (Atado's Way).

In the United Kingdom the style of Atado Pai is little known, taught only to a small number of pupils. A man called Mike James, who was a first Dan in Mushinado Karate, brought it to Wales. He became aware of Atado Pai after a trip to London, where he met an old Chinese gentleman who convinced him that Atado Pai would serve him better in old age than his strength based Karate.
    The old man did this not simply by talking, but by defeating him with speed and agility, this art was handed down to five pupils.
    In 1983 Mike James retired as Chief Instructor to follow a life in politics, and by 1986 only two of the five original pupils were left.