Learning Japanese

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by Kikaku, Jun 20, 2006.

1. Kikaku

Kikaku Gakorai Tosha Akuma Fudo

I've just signed up for Japanese language classes twice a week :p
    I'm currently living in a condominium, which is actually inside a shopping mall of all places, and I've just noticed that there is a brand new language school opening up which teaches a wide range of languages, Japanese being one of them.

Languages are my forte, since I currently speak English (duh ! I'm English :cool: ), Spanish, Italian and Dutch fluently, so one more shouldn’t be a problem. I think this is going to be an excellent way of facilitating my trips to Japan, and my training whilst in Japan since eventually I might be able to communicate with Soke and the non-English speaking Shihan.

Anybody else here speak Japanese ?

2. SilentNightfall

SilentNightfall Eien no Ninja

I've been studying Japanese for three years now and I'm still no where near fluent. Why? Because unlike most languages where the majority of time spent is with learning vocabulary and grammar, with Japanese, you also have to learn to read and write the system as well, seeing as how there is now simple alphabet with Japanese. You'll start with the simplistic writing systems of hiragana and katakana (used for writing imported words in Japanese phonetics) and soon after, you'll start learning Kanji. To be considered fluent, you need to know at least 3,000 Kanji (or so most people say) and that isn't an easy task, particularly when you don't read or write many obscure Kanji that often and thus forget how to read and write them. Just like with taijutsu, always keep in mind the word "gambatte."

3. KageAkuma

KageAkuma Valued Member

Japanese is completely different from European languages. Like what the above says, you don't only have to learn vocab and grammar, but you have to learn 3 seperate alphabets. (Hiragana, Katakana, and Kanji).