Kumite - why do I have a problem with just one karateka.......

Discussion in 'Karate' started by KarateMum, Sep 14, 2017.

1. KarateMum

KarateMum Valued Member

And it's my son!

Ours is a popular karate club, many members higher and lower grades than my teenage son and myself. We are the same grade and started at the same time. At the outset let me make one thing patently clear. I do not enjoy sparring/kumite. I am not good at it and never will be.

I think the jury is still out on whether I am safe, I strive for more control than many might give me credit for, but how effective that appears I do not know, I also try very hard to practice what we are drilled at yet, still get told that steam-roller things. I am not a naturally aggressive person either.

I would rather do kata, but when everyone else chooses to spar it seems more sociable to take part and it is good aerobic exercise. So I reluctantly spar.

I can spar with anyone else of any age or grade in the dojo and feel satisfied with how the session pans out. However, when paired with my son for some reason nothing seems to work and we end up feeling entirely unsatisfied with the bout and nearly at odds with each other.

Do you think it because we are mother and son, or is it down to a difference in his technique? Would it be seen as a reasonable request to ask Sensei not to pair us together?

2. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

What style of karate do you do?

3. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Yeah, you should see me and my brother sparring. It gets very aggressive sometimes.

4. narcsarge

narcsarge Masticated Whey