Korean Acupuncture Charts & Point Names

Discussion in 'Kuk Sool' started by unknown-KJN, Aug 17, 2009.

1. unknown-KJN

unknown-KJN Banned Banned

Despite the WKSA changing its stance from MANDATORY memorization of the acupuncture point names to merely RECOMMENDING that it be put to memory, it seems as though quite a few folks (here on MAP anyways) are highly interested in such stuff. So due to some discussion about it on another thread, as well as a few PMs asking (actually pleading) for me to share some information that was given out on the annual KSW seminars years ago, I had decided to go ahead and post this requested old info here on a new thread.

Understand that I am no expert in the study of acupuncture, and I will not be discussing any type of treatment (medical or otherwise) for any malady. The purpose of this thread is to inform people about the NAMES of the acupoints in Korean, as almost all resources for the points and meridians used in acupuncture are in Chinese (including those with Romanized names, which typically use Pinyin Romanization - BTW a good pronunciation guide can be found here).

After deciding to share this valuable info, I had intended to wait until I had the first chart ready to post before starting this thread. But the following post prompted me to get things started, even if a bit premature by my standards (and please be patient until I have sorted through all my material to eliminate any errors before I get around to the heart of the topic, that being the charts & acupoint names).