[Korea] Self Taught Korean

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Coges, Jun 11, 2009.

1. Coges

Coges Valued Member

Hey Guys and Gals,

Is it possible to teach yourself Korean without too many outside influences? If so, to what level are you able to reach by yourself?

Also are there any texts that you have found better or worse?

I have two main texts for reference. They are Elementary Korean and Continuing Korean. I have only just started and am looking to progress quickly. I understand that personal lessons or a class environment is always going to be better but this is my only option at the moment.

Cheers,

Cameron.

2. Studude67

Studude67 The hungry fighter

When i first started studying myself i had no internet and no money for classes so i bought a the book 한국어회화 (Korean conversation) by 고려대학교 민족문화연구소 the ISBN for it is: 89-7155-000-7

i found this book very helpful to start me off with some basic conversation, i also bought myself a good Korean dictionary which i used to find words that i didnt know. At the time when i started studying from the book however i already knew how to read and write Korean.

I also bought another book from that series which was just titled 한국어 (Korean language) that was also useful and i recently gave it to a friend of mine who started studying.

By studying on my own and just asking questions to my Korean friends i maganed to pick up the most basic of phrases but i could never really have proper everyday conversations with people, that only came when i started to study at language school.

I would agree that it is much better if you can get to a language academy of some sort, but i guess that would be tough in Australia. My Korean completely changed once i started studying at school as you can meet other like minded people and dicuss things only in Korean, it is when you must only use the language that it really starts to sink in.