Kickboxing clubs in Brighton, UK?

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by PsychoDelia, Nov 1, 2009.

1. PsychoDelia

PsychoDelia Valued Member

I posted this the the 'Beginning MA' thread, but as I haven't had any response, was hoping that somebody in the specific kickboxing sub-forum can help...

Can anybody suggest any good kickboxing clubs in Brighton please?

The two that I've found which are reasonably close to where I live are

http://www.rkb-martialarts.com (Dave Russell)

and

http://kicksuk.co.uk (Chris Kent)

RKB looks to offer a bit of a mix of styles, whereas Kicks looks to offer both kickboxing & Thai boxing separately. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to this, having never practiced a martial art before or been particularly into exercise, but am looking at something which will primarily improve my fitness as well as teaching me some self-defence techniques.

Has anybody been to either of the above clubs or heard good/bad things about them please?

I'm looking at doing it as cheaply as possible too as I haven't got that much money. For that reason (as well as distance), I've already discounted clubs in Hove which cost more for lessons as well as costing bus fare to attend.

Thanks for any advice!

2. PsychoDelia

Can anybody offer any advice, even if not from the area, but just looking at the websites? I'm keen to try out kickboxing but before I do would like some input as to which is the better club. Thanks!

3. Axelator

Axelator Not called Alex.

They both look a bit suspect to me, still you can try a lesson of each and see which suits you. Look for gyms with full contact fighters, no grading system, coaches that have fought professionally.

4. Axelator

I might be going to Brighton next year so I've looked into it a bit

ZT fightskool is supposed to be good, though there thai boxing might be more geared towards MMA, also

http://www.crawleythaiboxing.co.uk/index1.php is apparantly close to Brighton and is a good club.

5. PsychoDelia