Kenpo's effectiveness

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by Tigersan, Aug 9, 2007.

1. Tigersan

Tigersan New Member

Hi all,

Ive been studying Kenpo for the last 8 years and really enjoy the style. In the class the techniques and stlyes seem very effective. With groin strikes, eye gouges etc etc.

However, when we spar in the class, its so hard to pull of any techniques as other pupils all are in the same stances etc etc and its more of a free for all.

The question i have is as i have never ever been in a fight, luckily i hasten to add. Does the martial arts training help in a real street scenaria. ie does the person on the street attack you with one large punch or grab that you can apply some areas of your training too. Or do they guards up as if sparring.

Im just after some insight in the eyes of the agressor on the street and generally how they tend to attack you at the start.

Without going out to cause a fight its hard to find if what we learn will help.

Thank you in advance

2. DaeHanL

DaeHanL FortuneCracker

i did kenpo for a number of years as well. i can tell you the best way i found to figure out kenpo's effectiveness is to have a partner who is willing to attack you with real force. not someone who will LET you do anything. really earn the technique. you'll find some things change- stance, timing, distance, entry, etc. sometimes you'll just have to abort a technique altogether. make sure you freestyle too! i suggest wearing some protective goggles and equipment.

have fun!

3. Tigersan

Tigersan New Member

Thank you for a quick response, i will see if i can find anyone out there who wants to hit me hard hehe.

When you tested kenpo in this scenario did you find it effective? I know its a very fast style and, it does seem to work, no fancy kicks etc all straight to thepoint attacks. It looks good in the class thats for sure ;).

But the street is a whole new ball game.

4. SifuJason

SifuJason Valued Member