Kenpo Training

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by Mujuk Striker, Feb 19, 2004.

1. Mujuk Striker

Mujuk Striker New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to kenpo but I won't be looking into schools for a while (if at all) so I was wondering, what kind of training do you MAs do in the school/individually? What do your schools/self emphasize in training for combat? Etc. Thanks for reading-

2. KenpoDavid

KenpoDavid Working Title

2 weeks after I started Kempo I took a seminar with a 10th Dan and at the end he had a Q&A. I asked "as a beginning student what is teh most important thing I need to learn" and his answer was "you need to learn that you are out of shape. All the most amazing technique in the world is no use to you if you take one shot and are on your knees puking in the mud. You have to be in shape."

So if you want to do something before you start training, do situps, pushups, running, etc. Also stretching and flexibility exercises. Then, once you start learning it for real, you will be ready to execute.

Me, I have to do both at the same time now - work on my fitness as well as train technique.

3. Darting Viper

Darting Viper Combat Theorist

Greetings!

As an amateur personal trainer, I cannot agree more with the advice of KenpoDavid. In addition to basic physical conditioning, try these plyometric exercises: