Kenpo and Street fighting

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by Tigersan, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Tigersan

Tigersan New Member

hI Folks,

Having never been in a real fight luckily. I have one question for you on observatons i have on seeing fights happen around me.

Im currently studying Kenpo and have been for 7 years, and although all the tecniques do work in the gym which ofc there bound to. I have noticed from fights ive watched or seen in the street that within seconds it goes to grabs and holds. Kenpo does not have this in its sylibus.

Do all fights go to the ground or holds, if so then surely any martial arts that envolves standing fighting is a waste of time if the opponent just goes in to wrestle mode.

Oppinions appreciated from people who have been caught up in the real fights on the streets.

cheers,

2. KempoFist

KempoFist Attention Whore

Yes and No. Fights that do not go to grabbing and holding are fights that you or your opponent end very quickly with a sweet shot on the money. Most of the other ones do.

Usually if you are administering a beating, and the other guy becomes helpless on his feet, the first thing they instinctively do to stop the punishment is to grab you. If they are even marginally trained, they will continue to try and take you down, but often you may just trip up and go down anyway.

This instinct can also be abused if you have a good submission game, because when punching someone from the mounted position, that natural tendency to reach up and try to grab you or your arms to stop the blows, leaves them open to a plethora of locks and chokes.

3. Tigersan

Tigersan New Member

Thank you for the reply, very helpfull.

So from a kenpo point of view, how would that work. My instructor has worked the doors and 35 years of experience. Also from fights he has found it to be very effective.