Just started Martial Arts

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Anwolf, Jul 14, 2011.

1. Anwolf

Anwolf Valued Member

I recently started learning Eskrima, and there are a few questions I would like to ask.

How many times a week should I train? I currently only do it once a week, so I don't think I will be able to advance as quickly.

Also, if I have just started, is it a good idea to wait a while before starting a different martial art, so I do not get the techniques confused between both of them.

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Hi Anwolf,

1) At least twice a week, preferably 3 times in the beginning unless you do a LOT of practice at home

2) It depends - Sometimes it is best to learn one before you start to spread your wings, but if you can only train in Escrima once a week there is no harm in taking another style.

Welcome to MAP

3. Anwolf

Anwolf Valued Member

I should be practicing at home as well?

4. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Anwolf, practice at home, but stick to what you have been taught in order to get it right.

If you train with Nimesh you are not to far from me. I have a couple of classes you could attend.

5. Anwolf

Anwolf Valued Member

I'm thinking of going to weekend sessions as well, because at the moment the sessions I go to are based at my school ((his son goes to my school)) and he wants us to go to the weekend ones as well so we don't forget everything over the holidays.

6. jonwade

jonwade Valued Member

With martial arts it really is the more the better. When I started I used to train twice a week in the club then that increased to 3 classes a week, plus my own training.

When I used to train every day (mostly just forms) I noticed huge improvements, and then when I stopped that daily training I declined pretty quick all round, even though was still going to classes.

7. Anwolf

Anwolf Valued Member