just saying howdy

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by shortstick, Mar 11, 2003.

1. shortstick

shortstick New Member

Hello guys, just saying howdy. I am new to the forum. I have been training in Escrima for about 8 years, and I am always happy to find a place to discuss it.

2. Melanie

Melanie Bend the rules somewhat.. Supporter

Welcome to the forum shortstick :)

You'll find an impressive amount of knowledge on the forum and we look forward to hearing your input also.

3. KickChick

KickChick Valued Member

Welcome shortstick ... glad you made it! ;)

4. John G

John G Valued Member

Welcome aboard shortstick.

5. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Welcome - so they call you shortstick huh? Do we really wanna know why? LOL!

6. Cain

Cain New Member

Yaaay!

Bigstick and shortstick have finally met :D

Welcome shortstick :D

|Cain|

7. pgm316

pgm316 lifting metal

Enter medium stick! LOL

8. shortstick

shortstick New Member

thanks for the welcome......I think

9. YODA

You think correctly :D

I judge by your sig that you can take a joke!

So - onto more serious stuff....

What style of Escrima do you study and with whom? Pity you didn't sign up a week earlier - I was in LA last week and maybe we could have hooked up.

10. shortstick

shortstick New Member

I Trained under a man named Tony Texeria in Sarrada Escrima. He trained directly with Angel Caballes, and his son.
    Tony died way too young several years ago. Since then I have just been maintaining what I learned. My main focus for the last several years has been Kara-Ho Kempo, before that I trained for appx. 14 years in TKD reaching the rank of San dan. As for my screen name- I figured that not many people would know sarrada is a short range art....I figured it would get a grin or two, and we all need to smile more these days!

11. YODA