Jean Claude Van Damme

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Nykout, Nov 16, 2015.

1. Nykout

Nykout Valued Member

Hello
    First of all, I am new to the MAP and this is my first post, so if I screwed something up please let me know. Anyway, to the question:

What makes (or made, since he is quite out of form now), Jean Claude Van Damme so good? Just checked his professional kickboxing record of 18 W to 1 L, and that one loss was a disqualification, while all the 18 wins were by knockout. It is obvious that he is no ordinary fighter. Thanks for answers.

2. Antonius

Antonius Valued Member

Before he did kickboxing he did semi-contact karate and was a bodybuilder. He already had a lot of experience in karate and was in great shape. And according to himself his background in ballet helped too.

JVC deserves a lot more respect than he gets. Certainly more than Seagal.

3. Nykout

Nykout Valued Member

Do you think that (theoretically speaking) he could stand a chance with Mas Oyama if both were in their greatest?

4. Antonius

Antonius Valued Member

My knowledge on Mas Oyama is too limited for me to answer that. JCVD is taller and I suppose heavier. So there's a weightclass difference in his advantage, probably.

5. Latikos

Latikos Valued Member

I don't want to bash van Damme and was a big fan as a kid.

Plus, what I say now is something I repeat from one of my teachers - I myself wasn't there.

But apparently van Damme wasn't great a fighter; especially not after he started making movies.

One of my teachers met him once during a seminar and another one saw him "fighting" (to be honest: I'm not entirely sure, if that was during that seminar, or if it were two occasions) - problem was, he was so much into doing some of his "stunts" that he got beaten around by his opponent.

I'm not saying that he was or is a bad martial artist!
    Both teacher said right away, that his movement and everything was great, no one doubts on his flexibility or anything.