It's evolution baby!

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by philosoraptor, Dec 7, 2015.

1. philosoraptor

philosoraptor carnivore in a top hat Supporter

Until it was derailed, several people and I were having a fruitful discussion about evolution in a thread about the Abrahamic god. At the whims of a power mad mod, I have created this thread to discuss evolution, genetics and why life is the way it is. Many philosophers have attempted to come up with the meaning of life, and, now, finally, we have an answer to that question. It's not a very nice answer, but it is an answer that exhaustively applies to everything from pre-life self reproducing RNA molecules, to whales, dinosaurs, fungi and people.

A little about me: I was a scientist in a lab studying the genetics of speciation and hybridization until recently. I discovered that, although I love science, I do not love doing science. It's tedious and it eats your life - one researcher I admire very much said that he only had two priorities in his life, his family and research, and research came first.

What I hope to do with this thread is 1) Provide a history and background for evolution. Too often science is taught as a body of facts, rather than the story of discovery. 2) Do a general Q&A about topics in evolution. Any questions, I'll try to answer them or find a way to answer them. Finally 3) I want to persuade the doubters that, at the very least, it is the most supported and widely exhaustive theory for why life is the way it is.

2. philosoraptor