Is your TKD "street" effective?

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by kenpoist, May 1, 2005.

1. kenpoist

kenpoist New Member

I have a background in both TKD and Kenpo (which I am currently studying) and would like to know if you feel your instructors are adequately preparing you for "street" confrontation?

The common complaint/response I hear from many is that TKD has placed too much emphasis on sport/tournament training and has lost some of the original purpose - training for Korean military self defense.

I pose this question not to be critical of TKD, but rather to have each individual question his training and make sure you are getting a secure sense that "I can really defend myself should I be faced with an attack".

My TKD instructor added joint locking techniques, balance interuption techniques and knife fighting scenarios, at my request, to keep the "realism" in the training.

I appreciate your thoughts (what changes would you like to see, techniques that are good for sparring - not good for practical defense etc..)

Stay safe!

-Kenpoist

2. rtkd-badger

rtkd-badger Fundimentaly Manipulated

My style does not compete in tournaments so is self defence based, nothing else.

3. d33pthought

d33pthought New Member

Is my TKD street effective? Oh sweet Christmas, no!

4. Leo_E_49

Leo_E_49 Valued Member

As a striking art, yes it's the best I can make it. No nonsense. My instructors are out of the army so it's decent. As a grappler, not yet but I'm studying JJ to manage that range so I'm improving there.

Alltogether I'd say that my TKD does what it's meant to do (striking, footwork and distancing) very well.

5. rtkd-badger

I should have said that too, as a striking art yes, would like to see some grappling introduced.

6. jasonservis

jasonservis Avid crosstrainer