Is this wear and tear or something else?

Discussion in 'Injuries and Prevention' started by Kimberley, Apr 25, 2019.

1. Kimberley

Kimberley New Member

Hi MartialArts Planet!

I’ve been googling some pain I’m having and I came across this forum.

I’m almost 31, I have been training in kickboxing since 2012 and have a first degree black belt. I have also trained in kung fu since 2015 and I’m a brown sash preparing to take my first degree black sash in December.

I’ve always noticed one hip is less flexible than the other. My right leg can go up to my head easily, my left has always been much more difficult. It never used to be painful just stiff.

After a couple of years I noticed a bit of an ache after a good kicking session, it never seemed to be sore enough to go to a doctor just a bit annoying. Taking my black belt two years ago it was noticeably weaker than the other side, kicks from that side were no where near as high. This last year it’s become a real problem. Even going for a run makes it hurt which has no stretching at all.

Last night at training every time I tried a side kick (after a good warm up and proper stretches) pain shot down my hip and into my foot. It’s never been this sore before. If I lie down flat and bring my feet up to my bum and let my legs go my left leg barely drops whereas the right one drops all the way.

Has anyone experienced anything similar? Doing martial arts I’ve learnt that aches and pains come and go but this one just seems to keep getting worse!

Sorry for the essay I thought the backstory was important thankyou in advance!

2. neems

neems Valued Member

I'd probably go see a physio and see what they thought, I went to one after I tore my ACL and she knew what was going on long before I got my appointment for an MRI.

Hopefully it's nothing too serious.

Monkey_Magic likes this.
  3. Monkey_Magic

Monkey_Magic Well-Known Member

Ditto. I’d go and see a physio.

4. Dead_pool