Is 'Mushin' and high performance 'Flow' the same thing?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Botta Dritta, Dec 8, 2020.

1. Botta Dritta

Botta Dritta Valued Member

Like many people recently I havn't been able to get much martial stuff in, except for footwork exercise's and leg stretches so a lot of my stuff has been directed to a lot of reading.

Last night I was glancing through 'Yagyu Munenori's' - Heihō kadensho, promoted by a recent comment by Jaydub on Mushashi's Book of the 5 Rings, so I decided to compare them seeing as they are seen still in Japan as fundamental to Samurai martial arts. This prompted me to reread The Demon's Sermon on the Martial Arts and other tales by Issai Chozanshi, which is probably my favourite. The Heihō kadensho is certainly very interesting for me seeing as it's the principles of swordsmanship as applied to Statecraft (He was very close to the Shogunate) as I studied political science at Uni.

But what was interesting is the admonition like the other two which is an admonition that true martial arts is the ability to reach 'no mind' and let the techniques manifest themselves spontaneously rather than them be attached to the mind. In short Mushin: Mushin (mental state) - Wikipedia

When I left Uni I was deeply influenced by