is learning from 2 Masters ok?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by KungFuGrrrl, Dec 7, 2003.

1. KungFuGrrrl

KungFuGrrrl Valued Member

What is your opinion?
    I have been at my school for going on 8 years and I love my school.

However, I have the opportunity to train with a very respected Master who has been teaching Tai Chi for 40 years, a World Champion.

I know Sifu would not be happy about it.

I do not want to feel like I am *cheating* on my school.

Ive always read and heard that you stick with your Sifu until you can no longer learn from him/her.....

What are your thoughts?:confused:

2. Andrew Green

Andrew Green Member

I have been shopping at Walmart for 8 years and love it.

However I have the opportunity to shop at another large store.

I know walmart wouldn't be happy about it.

I do not want to feel like I am *cheating* on Walmart.

:D

Sounds a little silly doesnt it ;)

3. totality

totality New Member

well...learning from 2 masters is alright, as long as one of them is me.

or maybe it's just generally acceptable.

4. Stiles

Stiles New Member

Never pass up a good thing.. I've always belived that the best way to thank your teacher is to surpass him and then repay him by teaching him somthing you know.

Just a thought.

5. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

It's an excellent idea! Go for it :D

6. tkd ajumma

tkd ajumma New Member

I and some of my friends wanted to do some extra classes with a different master, and we also felt really bad about 'betraying' our master. We went along to the other classes, and found that our skills really improved, and that the teaching techniques of the two schools really complemented each other well. However, we still felt guilty about not staying loyal to our original master, and one of my friends said it felt like committing adultery. I'm not sure I feel quite that bad, but I certainly keep quiet about the other teacher when training with my original master.