is it bad to want to test your style against others?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Bakimosasaur, Dec 15, 2014.

1. Bakimosasaur

Bakimosasaur New Member

Hey guys.

i have been practicing martial arts since i was 8 years old. lately at 23. i have been feeling myself wanting a test my knowledge against other styles. not in a malicious way. i just want to see where my strengths and weaknesses are. so is this feeling a common thing? is it also a common thing to avoid MMA like the plague? I mean ill watch it but i have little interest in competing in that world.

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Depends on what you're after. When I started I sort of wanted to test it in the street. Now I have no interest.

If you're practicing a striking art, you could always compete in K-1, which is probably one of the better kickboxing rule sets.

If it's a grappling/submission art, Sambo and BJJ tournaments offer the least restrictive rules.

If you want to see how your style does in a full on fight you have two options;

Find a dog brothers gathering and have at it or;

Compete in MMA, which is by far the most open rule set you can legally compete under.

3. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Chadderz nailed it in one.

What's your objection to MMA? I'm not an MMAist myself, so I'm not taking it personally. It just seems that amateur MMA is such an obvious answer to your first point.

You could always look into whether there are informal sparring groups in your area. And, if so, are they run by anyone qualified to do so? If not, it runs the risk of devolving into one of those sad "fight clubs" that became popular after the movie (thereby missing the point of the movie/book).

4. Bakimosasaur

Bakimosasaur New Member