Is Daito Ryu Koryu?

Discussion in 'Koryu Bujutsu' started by Kobudo, Mar 24, 2011.

1. Kobudo

Kobudo Valued Member

Just looking at some Jujutsu vids, and came across this 'history' of Jujutsu.

http://www.waregachijujitsukai.co.uk/history.shtml

According to this Daito Ryu was formed in 880AD - I'm no expert on Daito, but wasn't it created more around the 1800's?

2. Dave Humm

Dave Humm Serving Queen and Country

I'd take everything presented on that site with a large pinch of salt, and an unhealthy amount of eye-rolling.

Edit:

Also having ruined about 5 minutes of my life I'll never recover looking at the gallery, what I see are people learning how to get themselves killed with the inclusion of such techniques against firearms.

Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  3. markspada

markspada Banned Banned

4. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

Depends on why it's done and the manner in which it's worn.

Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  5. Kobudo

Kobudo Valued Member

In GBK we do when training Jujutsu or some Ryu, Tanemura sensei himself does too.

It's a bit more subtle though, black obi over black hakama, rather than the stripes.

6. Kobudo

Kobudo Valued Member

Just noticed this club got some stick on Bullshido some time back, something about claiming Judo grades that couldn't be verified, and the organistion where they supposedly came from had never heard of the head instructor.

It was a different site then though, must have closed it and repoened this one, no mention of a Judo grade anymore though? Funny that!!

7. markspada

markspada Banned Banned

That's why I used the words personally, and I think. :cool:

- Mark Spada

8. Manga

Manga Moved On

How do I magic pants?

Attached Files:

9. Kobudo

Kobudo Valued Member

Sorry that wasn't a criticism, just saying that I think it can be done without being so in your face, as in the video

10. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

he accidentally your dress code?

11. Kogusoku