Introduction to TKD

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Fireblade, Sep 14, 2015.

1. Fireblade

Fireblade New Member

Hi

I am considering becoming part of a Taekwondo club, but I have no previous experience in TKD. I have studied it on the internet for a long time now, but I would like to know more about this before I start practising it. What skills can I expect to learn by belt level and what parts of TKD are the most enjoyable / useful to you?

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Beat way to know is to try! Take a trial class :)

General benefits are flexibility, weight loss and generally just healthier.

3. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

What you study will depend on the teaching preferences of the instructor(s), which is influenced by the association they're part of. If they're with the World Taekwondo Federation, they will probably lean towards Olympic-rules sparring for the bulk of their lessons. If they are with the International Taekwondo Federation, they will probably be more "traditional" and focus on patterns and self-defence. You will only know when you speak to the instructor and start training.

Understand the above is a generalisation; there are ITF-style clubs which produce phenomenal tournament fighters and WTF-style clubs which focus mostly on self-defence. Either way, you'll learn to kick people in the head, which is the most fun thing you can do in martial arts!

4. Fireblade

Fireblade New Member

Thanks for the info.