Insurance for overseas training?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by trs5, Nov 10, 2015.

1. trs5

trs5 New Member

I am going to China for a year to train in a Shaolin academy, but I am having trouble finding an insurance that covers my training. The academy I am going to don't offer an insurance for training, and it isn't possible for me to use the insurer of my current club overseas.

So far my best option seems to be to have a travel insurance policy, to cover my flights, travel and so on, then to find a separate policy to cover myself for my actual training.

Does anyone have any recommended martial arts insurance that could be used overseas? Or does anyone know of a travel insurance provider that will insure me for accident or injury while training? I have been using comparison websites to find my travel insurance, but so far have yet to come across a policy that covers Kung-Fu.

This is my first time going overseas to train, so if there is another way of doing this, please point it out, thanks :)

2. Travess

Travess The Welsh MAPper Supporter

It would be nearly impossible to say, without knowing which country you are traveling from, but as a guide, most travel insurance companies have an option to add activities to the policy. For example, with Thomas Cook, you can add 'Hazardous activity' to your policy, which will prompt you to fill in an auto-fill field, which after a few letters, will give you the option of Martial Arts (Training Only) which then adds about £20 to your overall costs.

Travess

3. trs5

trs5 New Member

I had only been on comparison sites so far so I hadn't realised that, cheers!
    And its England, so Thomas Cook is probably the one.

4. Late for dinner

Late for dinner Valued Member