Instep injury

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Aljaz, Oct 20, 2015.

1. Aljaz

Aljaz New Member

Hi, I started training in TKD month ago. Yesterday when i kicked with my right foot i felt like something moved at the middle toe on thr left foot... It hurts like hell when i try to walk. I went to the doctor, they x-rayed my foot and told me that the bones or not damaged, but that i have mild swelling at the "dorsal side of the left foot"(hopefully I translaed that right, I dont even know what it means in my language...) . I am worried that they might have missed something and that after 2 weeks of resting I wont feel better... Did any of you had similar problems? How long will it take to heal? Will I be still able to train in TKD or will I injure my self again when i try to kick?

Thanks

2. Latikos

Latikos Valued Member

My advice would be to calm down first.
    And, yeah, I know it's more difficult than it should be.

But: It only happened yesterday.
    Chances are more likely then not, that the foot will get better if you give it some time to heal properly.

When I hurt my foot once I felt like crawling on all fours the night; walking was pure torture.
    So I went to my doc the next day (still felt like crawling), he sent me to another doc for an x-ray (I could slowly walk without the wish, to rip my foot off) - but the more of the day went by, the better I could walk.
    It still hurt, but not that bad anymore.

I never told my doc that I actually went to training later that day, because he would have me skinned alive ;)
    But I felt like it, the foot didn't hurt *too* bad anymore. Of course I couldn't do everything, and more important: The *smart* thing to do would have been to give the foot some time to rest!
    That way it would have actually healed faster; "my" way took a while longer, I think :eek:

So: Don't be stupid like me, but give the foot some rest :)

3. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

RICE.

Rest

Ice

Compression

Elevation