Injured Shoulder.

Discussion in 'Judo' started by WunHungLo, Mar 1, 2007.

1. WunHungLo

WunHungLo New Member

This probably belongs in the health forum, but since it's a Judo related injury I'm probably going to get better replies here.

Two weeks ago I was practicing Ipon Seoi Nage with an absolute beginner, we were merely loading one another when Sensei decided to let the guy throw me. The guy tried to give me a soft landing (I guess) by trying to suspend my 235 lbs in the air and set me down softly. Well, when he figured out that he couldn't support that much weight in mid air I was promptly drop directly on my left shoulder. I heard a pop and it has been sore and stiff every since, especially first thing in the morning.

I don't think my shoulder dislocated or a muscle pulled or anything, there's was no visible bruise but it is sore when I move my arm in certain directions and feels weak. To best describe it, it feels like two bones collided.

Has anyone ever experienced this? Is there anything that can be done to help it along other than time? And is this something that may stay with me for the rest of my Judo practicing days? I've continued practice, but I'm afraid I'm going to injure myself in some other ways trying to protect my shoulder while falling.

Thank you for your advice.

2. Oversoul

Oversoul Valued Member

Yeah, I think you'd get better results in the H&F forum.

3. Moi

Moi Warriors live forever x

Where you from?

4. piratebrido

piratebrido internet tough guy

I had a similar injury where I damaged my rotator cuff. I could hardly lift my arm though, but the weakness feeling is spot on. I was training again in judo within about 3 months but I still felt the weakness for a good 9-12 months. Just take it easy and listen to your shoulder, if things are too sore stop.

5. Scaramouch

Scaramouch Lost Soul