In need of a new routine!

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Arnoo, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Arnoo

Arnoo Work in Progress

Been ages since I’ve lasted posted but I’m in need of some serious advice and what place better than MAP! So basically I’ve been doing the Starting Strength program for the last 2,5/3 years and the gains have been amazing. I'd estimate that overall my strength has nearly doubled, however I think I’ve reached the limits the program can take me. So I’m looking for a new routine that can help my strength reach the next level. So far I’ve been lifting 2 times a week full body focusing on the squat, deadlift, bench and military press in a 3x5 fashion (1x5 for deadlift). I've also alternated between barbell and dumbbell bench press.

Things I’ve been doing to supplement my main exercises are:

Pull downs (2x10)
    Rows (on a machine) (2x8)
    weighted sit-ups (1x15)
    Russian twists (1x30)
    Leg press (2x8)

I'm doing judo on Tuesdays and Thursdays and some additional cardio (running) 2 times a week. So far I’ve always done lifting 2 times a week full body but I don't mind going 4 times a week in a split routine or something.

So what kind of routine would you guys advise me, on what days should I lift and what additional exercises should I take? I'd like to keep focusing on the big 4 I mentioned earlier, in starting strength the power clean is also recommended but I’m a bit cautious to add that to my routine.

Thanks in advance,

2. Princess Haru

Princess Haru Valued Member

3. seiken steve

seiken steve golden member

to be honest 531 sounds ideal for you, its 20 quid but so worth it.

you'll be hitting the big 4 every week, have to option to add powercleans if you feel up to them, have space to play with accesory movements and will always make progress.

something jim posted which is IMO super cool is to split your year in 4 blocks of 3 months.

block 1: 531 BBB focus on getting massive