If I want to pursue MMA, should I start boxing or wrestling first?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by pabloholder, Apr 6, 2019.

1. pabloholder

pabloholder Banned Banned

I want to pursue MMA as it is my passion. I don't aim on competing seriously but I want to do MMA as a hobby, and maybe fight in local shows or with friends and also learn it for self defence.

I have zero wrestling experience and knowledge. As for boxing, I train a lot but only punch bag training in my backyard. I have lots of knowledge of boxing as I follow the sport a lot.

I also do weight training (for many years).

I think at the moment, doing all three, wrestling boxing and weights will be too much for me.
    I want to continue lifting and do either boxing or wrestling first.

Do you think I should do boxing classes (i signed up to UFC gym last month but haven't done their classes yet) or wrestling classes first if I want to become better at MMA?

I'm leaning towards boxing as I have some knowledge and practised some of it already. But then again, maybe I should do wrestling since I have no clue about it, and its one of the most important aspects of MMA.

What do you guys think?

2. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu

If you want to get good at MMA then MMA class is your best bet. Boxing or wrestling will help, but when integrated into MMA they will change in some respects.

If you have already signed up then get started, no reason to delay :) if you have the option for classes then try them all and see which you like the best!

No reason not to try all the options, every club I ever went to had at trial class.

If you have time to do all, then do all :) (that is what I did when I had a lot more time available)

Travess likes this.
  3. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter