How to start again

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Maco, Nov 27, 2011.

1. Maco

Maco Valued Member

Hello, I am 18years old guy from Europe. I come from small country. I used to train Tae Kwon-Do for 5 years when i was 9-14 years old. My club went off and the nearest club was more than 50km away which was too far. I started training Shotokan Karate-Do but all we did was different forms and no sparings. I stopped training cause i was bored doing same all katas for 3 years. Now I haven't been training any martial arts for more than a year and i want to star over. I can still do a lot of techniques from both Tae Kwon Do and Karate but I really lack flexibility and power.

I want to start training again, but on my own. I have room a bout 40 square meters with tatami and punching bags. I've got all the equipment to train by myself. But I need a programme. What should I do first. On what should i focus?
    Please Help me!

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Don't!

Get to another club forthwith! Home training is a supplement to what you do already, not a replacement. Where do you live? Do you have Judo or boxing or wrestling nearby?

3. Maco

Maco Valued Member

I come from Slovenia. But in every martial arts school if I'd like to train, they would probably put me with 5yo's with white belts... and I would have to punch 2h per training although I have more than 8years of martial arts behind me...

4. ShangChi

ShangChi KRAV MAGA!

What schools do you have available to you? Is there a chance you can find a TKD club that will allow you to keep your grade, as that seems to be your primary focus here?

Or perhaps you just have to empty your cup and start again...

5. Pkhamidar2com

Pkhamidar2com Panda Member

Agreed with hannibal, training at home will eventually leave you at a halt, and it gets rather dull.

Types of clubs you want to look for are
    -Judo
    -boxing
    -kickboxing
    -mma