How much are you paying for your martial arts lessons

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by oneninja, May 28, 2004.

1. oneninja

oneninja Valued Member

I would like to know or get some comparisons to work with. I have enrolled my grand daughter in USA karate here in Illinois.She will be learning Tang soo do.hapkido,judo and kobudo.They are charging us 7500.00 for a three year black belt program.I studied martial arts for many years and this seems to be alot of money,I would appreciate any comparisons or comments.One of my friends sons studied at this school and had nothing but good things to say about it.Any info would be greatly appreciated.This school is a referral only school,my grand daughter has been in classes for about two months and the instructor says she is showing great potential and says he wants to enroll her in the black belt leadership program ie 7500.00 dollars.Again I would greatly appreciate any help with this situation.

2. Aegis

Aegis River Guardian Admin Supporter

7500 dollars? That really is a LOT of money... In my style of jujutsu, the costs are £2 a session for members of the club, and a year's membership costs £10. That equates to a cost (assuming 3 sessions a week, which is about all I can make) of 10 + 52x6 = £322 per year for jujutsu 3 times a week (2 hours each session). Now I know that my classes are fairly cheap for over here, but even doubling the cost doesn't come close to your figure of 2500 dollars a year.

I guess it all depends on if you think it's worth it, but from here I'd say that signing up for a 3 year contract with these people would be a really bad plan. Even without knowing what they do.

3. Mind Aflame

Mind Aflame New Member

I pay £10 for 3 hours of lesson and an hour of teaching tuition. Then weekend courses of 4-6 hours are usually £15 which again is still cheaper than that course.

How many hours per week does it pay for?

4. Ghost Frog

Ghost Frog New Member