How many real fights have you been in?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by CrowZer0, Jan 1, 2016.

1. CrowZer0

CrowZer0 Assume formlessness.

Ever had to apply MA to a real situation? How did it go? Was it effective?

Has it changed how you train, did it reinforce your training more?

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Since I started training I have been in one true fight. I started it because the guy was an absolute DoucheBro. I pushed him, he turned around squared up to me, I got a head and arm throw and mounted him. Briefly considerepunching him but we were in college and I decided against it. We got split up and I didn't get kicked out because all the staff new he was a giant DoucheBro (also I didn't hit him).

3. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Professionally? Over 1500 confronations not all fights as such, but avoit 1/3 end up being aggressively physical and about 50 were full on fights

It confirmed to me I was probably training properly!! I was heavily influenced by Geoff Thompson and Peter Consterdine so the "real violence" was something I had always kept in mind. It also REALLY confirms the value of grappling in your toolbox

Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
  4. Travess

Travess The Welsh MAPper Supporter

I've effectively applied more Verbal de-escalation, as well as awareness and avoidance, in 'real situations' than having to fall back on actual physical defense.

The very rare occasions in my 40 years, that have resulted in violence, have all ended 'favourably' for me, save 2 separate instances, in so as far as I was able to create an exit opportunity for myself and/or my friends.

The 2 occasions that went less favourable were -

A) I did not see the attack coming, I missed any/every opportunity to fight back, and/or flee, and although my defenses were pretty effective, following the initial blow, I was only saved by the intervention of my friends.