How long does it take for microfractures to heal?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Godzilladude123, Jan 21, 2018.

1. Godzilladude123

Godzilladude123 New Member

Hey guys. I'm currently a senior high school student who's going to start attending a muay thai clinic this April. I can't wait to finally learn martial arts. Due to my excitement I've been researching about muay thai for almost a month now. However there is one question that seems to elude me.

Many muay thai fighters practice a lot of roundhouse kicks and low kicks on either a heavy bag or a banana tree to create microfractures in the shins to make it tougher (known as Wolf's law?) to the point that they can kick baseball bats in two (I hear legit Thai fighters kick a tree 1000 times a day to deaden nerve cells... OMG). While I obviously won't be doing that amount of kicks on a bag yet since I am a beginner, I am curious of how long does it take for microfactures in a shin to heal? If I'm going to start training, I don't want to overtrain myself and end up like Paul George or Anderson Silva who ended up with snapped shin legs.

So how long does it take for microfractures to heal?

2. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu

It's a common misconception that Muay Thai training involves kicking "trees", even though it's often called a tree, the banana tree is an collection of tightly packed leaves.
    Kicking this is on par with kicking a heavy bag.

The repeated kicking does cause the bone to adapt and become stronger to a point. This doesn't intentionally involve micro fractures, I'm not saying that they doesn't happen, as in sparring this can happen, but it's not required for that process to work.

microfractures can set your training back, days or weeks depending on your age/health/lifestyle/day job.

Don't let this put you off starting, any gym worth looking at isn't going to have you going home with microfractures constantly.