How do you deal with disruptive students

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by pasusan02, Jul 1, 2007.

1. pasusan02

pasusan02 Valued Member

or students who don't participate in class. Either they don't do what you ask them to, you have to remind them repeatedly to do XXX, or they are constantly bothering other students and disturbing their work. As an assistant instructor, I only have a certain amount of authority, and on some occasions, I am taking class with my son and then I am just mom. Any suggestions as to how to motivate these students to try harder? I've tried using positive reinforcement (you have a strong side kick, can you demonstrate for the class) ... types of comments and in most cases it doesn't work past that one moment. I have talked with the other instructors and head instructor, just thought I'd throw this out and see what suggestions you all have. Thanks!

2. Stan O'Kella

Stan O'Kella Hmmmmmmmmmmm?

Hey there, you have to wonder why people like these come to class. Are they adults or kids, sometimes if they are kids it generally because they don't really wanna be there and are just training because their parents want them to. It sounds like you have done all that you can to try and motivate them, positive feedback and giving them the chance to shine in class. Not really much more that you can do on that score.

Its difficult for you as you say that you aren't the head instructor, it may take their input. Generally I'd say take them aside and explain that they are paying money to train, and that its a waste of both their time and money unless they participate fully in training. Explain that if the behaviour continues, they will be asked to leave the school as they are disrupting the training of the other students.