Home PC maintenance

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Porkchop, Sep 26, 2011.

1. Porkchop

Porkchop Valued Member

Let's get this out of the way, i'm in no way a tech guy so technical terms will fly right over my head. What i'm looking for is just some basic info and maintenance recomendations to keep my home pc running smooth.

Let me give you some background so you know what i am working with. I have a dell running windows 7 home, i have BitDefender for antivirus. I run a scan every 4 or 5 weeks and so far so good. The PC is 6 months old. I was reading a thread here and someone mentioned that windows will over time just get bogged down and with proper maintenance you can prevent that from happening. Should i also download say malwarebytes and run that to scan my system?

What other things should i be doing to keep my machine clean and running well? Please keep iin mind that i'm not technical, so any suggestions about going into the registry and doing this and that will go nowwhere. My wife and i are pretty careful with our money since we have for kids and she's on maternity leave.

Any help would be great, thanks guys.

2. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

How much downloading are you doing? Or data swapping? Are you using USB keys or other portable hard drives on other systems and the plugging them back into your home system?
    Are you busy clicking on every pop up window?

If not I wouldn't worry so much about virus... I use only AVG free and haven't (knock on wood) had many virus problems.

It all really depends on how you use your machine. More info helps us to help you.

3. Porkchop

Porkchop Valued Member