HKD kicking vs. TKD kicking

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by BSR, Mar 7, 2004.

1. BSR

BSR Valued Member

This subject has been touched upon before in different threads, but since I was interested in discussing it in particular, I decided to make a new thread just for this topic.

From what I have read from various other posters (sorry, I can't remember names), a basic difference between traditional HKD kicking and TKD kicking seems to be how the kicks are executed. Taking a simple roundhouse/snap kick for example, TKD seems to rely more on the snapping motion that comes from the knee, whereas Hapkido relies more on rolling the hips and trying to put the weight of the body behind the kick.

This theory matches my own experience. When I studied TKD, my instructors listened for the uniform to make an actual snapping sound to know if I was doing my kicks correctly. In Hapkido, I am taught more to swing my hips around, we are still taught to snap the leg, but not near as dramatically as in TKD. Another difference I have experienced are crescent kicks. If I remember my TKD experience correctly, we were taught to have our legs pretty much straight. In Hapkido, my instructor tells us to keep our legs slightly bent while doing crescent kicks.

I guess the whole point of this is that I'm wondering where this difference originated since I had thought that both TKD and HKD were influenced by the same early Korean martial art, tae kyon. In Hapkido, I believe it was Ji Han Jae who was mainly responsible for bringing the kicking aspects into the art. Was he the one who decided to make HKD kicking different than TKD kicking?

This is a chance for the board's MA historians to flaunt their knowledge. ;)

2. mountainsage

mountainsage New Member

Thought