Hip pain with roundhouse/side/hook kicks

Discussion in 'Injuries and Prevention' started by mocochoco, Oct 22, 2012.

1. mocochoco

mocochoco Valued Member

Hi,

I have been studying Karate for about 4 months but I am having real difficulties with roundhouse / side / hook type kicks.

The instructors are beginning to think I am just insolent because of just how badly I am failing to perform the kicks. Someone will try and explain it to me every time, I have been about 40 times, and every time I just don't seem to improve.

I think the source of problem is that i get pain in my outer hip from hip abduction. It is a sharp pain, I feel it when I get to the edge of my ROM for this movement (see picture)

[​IMG]

ie when my hip is out as far as I can move it, it hurts sharply and that prevents me from moving it farther. It's not a normal 'cant stretch further' stretchy pain, it feels more like a pinching/tightness. the pain feels like its on the outside of the hip.

So when I do a I am kicking very low (more or less at thigh height).

The instructors try to help by holding my leg and helping me stretch. but the outer hip pain thing kicks in and limits how much I can stretch. EG if I kick right and he catches my leg, then I turn my hips over while he holds the right leg, it will start to hurt a lot once my right hip gets to its highest point in the turn. They seem surprised by this so I am guessing it is not normal.

Sometimes when I kick the pads, its OK because the hip does not turn over so far (since the pads stop the rotation). when I kick the pads the teachers think its OK (i chose a gym where they are quick to point out any mistakes) but if I try and throw a shadow round house its LOLs all around - I cant turn the hips over in the follow through so it's a fail roundhouse.