Higher education, while learning secondary language

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by liero, May 17, 2016.

1. liero

liero Valued Member

I have 2 students (TKD) who are French native speakers. I am pretty passionate about learning languages and see this as an opportunity to develop my skills in a new language.

I'm Australian and speak English as a first language. I'm studying psychology and the coursework is intensive this year. I learned conversational Spanish over 12 months including 8 months immersion in South America and really enjoyed this.

Would a couple of hours a week learning French over the the next few months be sufficient to improve my verbal communication skills with my students, and is it worth doing while I'm trying to study.

My reading around neuroplasticity etc make me think it would be beneficial to engage in learning a new language. While I am trying to improve my personal knowledge of French, I may allow myself to better develop my brain in learning other things, such as the syllabus of the courses. Or am I kidding myself and becoming distracted from my studies?

2. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

Sounds like classic student procrastination. It's fine so long as you recognise it for what it is.

3. Bozza Bostik

Bozza Bostik Antichrist on Button Moon

That's a bit vague. Of course, you can improve...If you learn two new words, then you improved, right?

Are you a true or false beginner in French? What's your level now?

If you're a beginner....Honestly, a few hours a week for a few months won't get you very far, unless you're a total language warrior or a false beginner. You'll probably just learn "survival French" (e.g. Can you tell me where the post office is?). but it depends on what you want.

If you just want to say, "Hi! How's it going? I like cats. Do you have a pet?"...you'll be ok. If you want anything more than that...probably not going to happen.