1. TwirlinMerlin

TwirlinMerlin Valued Member

Hi everyone,

I've been visiting this website for a little while now and thought I would sign up. Martial arts have always been an interest and at times a hobby of mine. It's been several years now but the last art I studied was Shotokan Karate. Before that, it was Isshinryu. I felt that both styles had good things to offer me, like the power striking of Shotokan, and the quick snappy striking and natural fighting stance of Isshinryu. I've dabbled in a couple of other arts but liked Karate the best. I'm in no way a master of any style and don't claim to be any kind of expert. I enjoy learning. Especially about all the different styles that are out there. There are so many interesting styles. Also, now that I'm a little older and wiser than I once was I would like to learn more about de-escalation techniques. It has dawned on me recently that I need to get better at being able to de-escalate a hostile person that may become violent. Does anyone have any good reading suggestions for learning de-escalation techniques? Thanks!

2. SWC Sifu Ben

SWC Sifu Ben I am the law

Welcome! Glad you're interested in the actual self defence side of things. I would always suggest taking a first, second, and third thread through of Verbal Judo as a start for that specifically.

3. Smaug97

Smaug97 Valued Member

Welcome!

4. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

Learn about active listening then do a course on it. It takes practice.

Look at Rory Miller and Geoff Thompson's work. You need to know what you are de-esclating, why is the person upset or aggressive and why is it aimed at you?

Welcome to MAP. :)

5. flaming

flaming Valued Member

6. TwirlinMerlin

Thanks for the suggestions.

7. CrowZer0

CrowZer0 Assume formlessness.

I like the name, welcome to Map.

8. Marku85

Marku85 Valued Member

welcome to MAP !

9. TwirlinMerlin

I went ahead and ordered Verbal Judo today. Looking forward to reading it.

10. Tom bayley