Hi All

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Paul A, Mar 4, 2011.

1. Paul A

Paul A Valued Member

Hi All,

Newbie here. Hope everyone is doing well. Looking forward to debating various subjects.

I have however some views to bring to the party:

• Learning a Kata is useless and nothig other than dancing, unless you know what it means
    • Kumite competiton/point fighting is not fighting, and is useless for learning how to defend yourself anywhere other than on those matts
    • I believe Heian Kata's were Itosu's effort to creating one group of Kata for Karate, instead of 90 odd different kata's with 60% duplication in techniques
    • I think Heian Katas are themselves a distinct fighting style with 1/2/3 containing high impact strikes, grappling, close range strikes, throws & takedowns, ground fighting, chokes & strangles, arm locks, leg & ankle locks, neck wrenches, finger locks, wrist locks, and 4/5 containing the 'what if that doesnt work' techniques
    • I think 90% of classes don't focus on the real confrontation distance of nose to nose, and applications of Hikkite etc that are obvious at that distance, and within realistic parameters of a fight
    • I think Guard posture with hands up is sporting only, street wise your hands must being doing one of two things: 1. pulling your opponents hands/arms out of the way (Hikkite) to allow a strike, or pulling someone's strike area to your strike, ie grab head and elbow. Hands are always active. Chambered hand should always have something in it (ie a opponents limbs) otherwise what's the point?
    • There are no stances in Karate. The body shifts we know as stances are there to train weight transfer. They are what happens at the end of a technique, not at the start ! Sparring in long front stance is stupid.

Discus :woo:

Last edited: Mar 4, 2011
  2. Blade96

Blade96 shotokan karateka

Osu :)

we have a thread i think its called the great kata debate or something :)

3. John Titchen