Help me Yoda!

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Andy Murray, Apr 4, 2003.

1. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

Hi Dave,

seeing as you've been good enough to offer free advice to everyone here with your experience as a qualified Fitness Instructor, I'm hoping you might do the same for me.

I'm signed off my physiotherapy now after snapping my achilles tendon, and looking to get back into some semblance of shape.
    I need to construct a practical and effective programme based round my working restrictions and physical limitations.

I'm hoping to start running now, probably starting out with 'Fartlekk' (spelling?).
    I can only potentially get to a gym once a week, so would a low rep heavy weight program be of use, or would it be two steps forward and one back?
    I can do simple exercises in hotel rooms while I work away, so what should I concentrate on.

I'm very strong on 'push' type movements, but terrible on pull. I reckon I can probably bench well above average without training, but I'd be lucky to do one pullup right now (most I ever managed was seven).

My Chiropractor, a MArtist, reckons I should never run again, as I have a damaged disc in my back as well as worn vertebrae. My Physio, a reckons thats rubbish, himself a semi-pro runner.

Any advice would be most welcome thanks.

Andy

2. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

No problem bud - I'll put together & program for you ASAP.

Fartlek would be pretty useless right now - you need to build up a strong aerobic base 1st & make sure that Achilles Tendon is up to strength before you go putting much stress on it.

I have a routine in mind - when are you next down at our class?

3. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

Wednesday 16th April.

I did pop by last night, but I didn't see your car, so I sodded off as I was too tired anyway.

This is the problem though Dave.

How do I test it?
    I've avoided doing anything dynamic.