Help and advice needed by a newbie.

Discussion in 'MMA' started by Liquid Steel, Jun 10, 2011.

1. Liquid Steel

Liquid Steel Valued Member

I've been training MA since I was 17 starting with TKD and then moving onto Taijutsu, a little Judo and Silat.
    I'm now 24 and I've been studying Muay Thai, in a half arsed fashion, for a few years too and I recently started going to the occasional BJJ session. I've always been an athlete as a youngster, I used to compete in high jump and long distance running at the county/nationals level. So that all sounds ok as a starting point for mma training...

Thing is, I also have a bit of a drinking problem and have done for a few years now on-and-off. I won't go into details but lets just say I'm not exactly training at my peak level. Recently (in the past few days) I've quit the booze, I've quit the drunken smoking and I want to concentrate on my training and my academic work.

In order to have something to keep me motivated/nervous I've entered an amateur MMA tournie in 7 weeks time. I expect to get the snot beaten out of me of course but hey, not exactly the first time thats happened! So given the background I have some questions...

1) Who the hell is gonna give me a license with so little mma experience?! My BJJ instructor definitely won't.

2) If I train 6 days a week for 7 weeks exactly how much can I make up for my lack of experience/years of physical abuse? I'm not worried about striking but in terms of grappling I know I'm awful! I can dedicate as much time as I like to training btw as I don't have to work until after my uni stuff is over.

3) With the no headshots and obvious bias towards grappling should I use my "reasonably good" clinch game and just try to knee my way to a TKO? Is this a valid tactic in Am MMA?

4) Is any of this a good idea or am I just mad?!

2. Moi

Moi Warriors live forever x

It's a fantastically mad idea.

3. Liquid Steel

Thanks!