Hello, finally

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by aikiMac, Oct 17, 2004.

1. aikiMac

aikiMac aikido + boxing = very good Moderator Supporter

E-Rocker made me realize that I've been here over a year but I never introduced myself. Eegads!

From age 7 to 22, minus one year therein, I lived in a suburb of Phoenix, Arizona (USA). At the time Phoenix was a small city. Now it's a huge city. I think I read that it's the 4th largest in America. For one year during that time I lived on my own and worked at Pacific Northwest Laboratories. I programmed a robotic arm to move in desired ways. That was a cool job. I learned the C programming language from that job.

I graduated from college with honors and a degre in mathematics, but I had no direction in life. "Postpone the real world," I said to myself. "Graduate school!" Purdue University offered to pay me to teach math and work on a PhD. Of course I said yes. After a couple years of watching the senior grad students interact with professors and try to find jobs I came to the decision that academia really isn't as glamorous as I had thought. So, I switched my plan of study and took a Masters degree in Applied Mathematics.

A few months before graduation I married a hot Asian chick and accepted a job with the defense contractor TRW at their campus in Redondo Beach, California. We rented a townhouse two miles straight out of the Manhattan Beach pier. I was a "software engineer." I programmed in Fortran, C, a little C++, and a little Perl.